PM Modi congratulates Capt. Amarinder as he takes oath as Punjab CM

Mar 17, 2017, 01:22
PM Modi congratulates Capt. Amarinder as he takes oath as Punjab CM

This is the second time that Singh would be taking the oath as chief minister having served in that capacity in 2002-2007.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who had called up Captain Amarinder on the day of the declaration of the results, took to Twitter to congratulate the new Punjab CM, wishing him "the very best in working for Punjab's development". The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) won 20 seats on its debut, emerging as the second largest party in the Punjab Assembly.

Congress leaders hailed the change of guard in Punjab as a historic moment that will "transform the state's fortunes and revive its pristine glory". Speculations were rife that Navjot Singh Sidhu will be the Deputy chief minister of the state.

Captain Amarinder Singh, 75, took oath as Chief Minister this morning.

Aruna Chaudhary (Dina Nagar) and Razia Sultana (Malerkotla) will be ministers of state. The Congress has 77 MLAs in the assembly.

Adrian Gonzalez rips WBC
Jair Jurrjens picked up the win after striking out five batters and holding Israel to one run and five hits over six innings. The original tweet was deleted, and Venezuela manager Omar Vizquel said his players were surprised to hear the good news.

Former Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal's estranged nephew Manpreet Badal was the next to take oath, followed by Nabha MLA Sadhu Singh Dharamsot, Fatehgarh Churian MLA Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Kapurthala MLA Rana Gurjit Singh, and Chamkaur Sahib MLA Charanjit Singh Channi.

A number of top Congress leaders, including party Vice President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, attended the swearing-in ceremony. The spokesperson pointed out that the complete arrangements for the event were made by the Raj Bhavan, with the Congress government not even sworn in till the completion of the ceremony.

Nirmaljeet Singh Kalsi was posted as Additional Chief Secretary, Home Affairs and Justice and in addition Additional Chief Secretary, Agriculture, Additional Chief Secretary, Removal of Grievances, Principal Resident Commissioner (Investment Promotion and Industrial Liaison) Punjab Bhawan New Delhi and Additional Chief Secretary Governance Reforms.

Sidhu among 7 in Cabinet; Manmohan, Rahul attend oath.