Voting begins in sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh elections

Mar 05, 2017, 01:02
Voting begins in sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh elections

It added: "In view of the above, the Commission, in exercise of the powers under sub-section (1) of Section 126 A of the Representation of the People Act 1951 has extended the period of prohibition of conduct of Exit Polls up to 5:30 pm of March 9, 2017". The seats in this phase are in extremely backward eastern UP.

Polls were held in six districts in the state including Imphal East, Imphal West and Bishnupur.

Asking whether economic blockade will continue if the saffron party does not come to power in the state, the Chief Minister said, "Such remarks from him show that BJP, UNC, NSCN (IM) are working hand in glove". "The Central forces are holding flag marches in the sensitive areas to instill confidence among the voters", a senior police official claimed here.

About 250 companies were deployed for security in the polling stations.

Cameras have also been installed on the Sonauli Indo-Nepal Border of Maharajganj district on to prevent illegal movement of people during polling. A total of 17,926 polling booths and 10,820 polling centres have been set up in the sixth phase.

Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav too is leaving no stone unturned and is preparing for a mega roadshow with Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi in Varanasi.

Yogi Adityanath casts his vote at booth no. 3705 in Gorakhpur in Uttar Pradesh. The SP patriarch did not campaign in this constituency. It will also be a litmus test for Ansari brothers of Mukhtar Ansari in Mau and Ghazipur districts. Northeast India's oldest regional political outfit, Manipur Peoples' Party has fielded 13 candidates, while Trinamool Congress is contesting in 10 Assembly constituencies; Lok Jansakti Party has put candidates in 12 seats.

While addressing his maiden rally in Manipur on 24 February, prime minister Narendra Modi accused the ruling Congress party of clandestinely supporting the economic blockade to derive political advantage. He is scheduled to address public meetings in Jaunpur and Varanasi today.

Another BJP partner Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party is contesting from three seats.

Meanwhile, several youth had organised a campaign to use NOTA. The voter strike rate was 64%, 66%, 61.16%, 60.75% and 57.36% respectively in the first five phases.

Among those candidates contesting are congress candidate Th.Lokeshwar of Khundrakpam Assembly Constituency, who is also the speaker of the Manipur Legislative Assembly, and other congress Ministers, I Hemochandra of Singjamei Ac, MPCC president TN Haokip, Works Mnister KH Ratankumar, Commerce and Industries Minister K Govindas, IFCD Minister Ngamthang Haokip and Social Welfare Minister AK Mirabai, who is also one among the two lady candidates of Congress party.